The Gold Medal for Innovation in Daffodil Breeding

This Gold Medal, The Innovation Medal, is to be awarded for the most innovative new daffodil exhibited at the ADS National Show. The winning variety should demonstrate significant novelty, advance or break-through qualities which could be expected to influence future development of the genus for commercial or exhibition purposes.

The Gold Medal will be available for award at each National Show and Convention at the discretion and unanimous vote of the President's selected panel of expert judges.

The Gold Medal will be awarded to the hybridizer and raiser (or, if deceased to the principal stockholder or exhibitor) of the winning daffodil provided it fulfills the following conditions:

- It must be exhibited at an ADS National Show and Convention, either in competitive classes or in Bulb Nursery or private displays.
- It must be "new" in that its name has not been registered more than 5 years previously.
- If an unregistered seedling is chosen for the award the breeder/stockholder must undertake to register it as a cultivar with The Royal Horticultural Society as soon as possible, after the judges announce their decision. Ideally, a name would be chosen before the end of the Convention, perhaps from a suggestions box placed in front of the Award winning bloom on the honors table.

Innovation Medal Awardees 2004 to Present:

```
2004 -- Leone Low for MR-OO, 7 Y-GYO ('Milan' x 'Rikki')
2005 -- Gerard Knehans for 'Saint Louie Louie' 6 W-Y (v)
2006 -- Nial Watson for #529, 11 O-O, ('Tiritomba' x 'Rio Rondo')
2007 -- Murray Evans/Jan Pennings for 'Little Bell' 5 Y-Y
2008 -- Colin Crotty for #1-14-94, 6 W-W
2009 -- not awarded
2010 -- Harold Koopowitz for 'Itsy Bitsy Splitsy' 11a Y-O
2011 -- Harold Koopowitz for #02-139-1, 8 W-P, ('Little Ruby' x N. torifolius)
       later named 'Little Pinkie'
2012 -- not awarded
2013 -- Harold Koopowitz & Marilynn Howe for #08-005-8, 4 W-W, (Kidson x
       N. dubius)
2014 -- Larry Force for #10-59, 7 G-G, [('Brooke Ager' x 'Swagger') x Koopowitz
       04-56]
2015 -- not awarded
2016 -- not awarded
2017 -- Robert Spotts for #1-158-17, 12G-GGY
2018 -- Harold Koopowitz for #2003-029-1, 4Y-YYO
2019 -- not awarded
2020 -- not awarded
2021 – not awarded
```

2022 – Brian Duncan for 'Whispering Pink', 2P-P

2023 – Dave Hardy for #EF-50, 5Y-O